Otumfuo Osei Tutu II has retained Mr Kwame Kyei as chairman of the Asante Kotoko Board of Directors after constituting a new board to see to the affairs of the club.

In a statement, the Asantehene said Mr Kyei was retained because he has been the sole financier of the club for the past three years.

The businessman’s tenure as Executive Chairman of the club expired in December 2019 but submitted a report of his stewardship in April.

”Dr. Kwame Kyei, Chairman of Unity Oil Group is retained as Chairman of the Board in recognition of the fact that he has single-handedly financed the Club’s operations over the past three years,” the statement read.

”However, he will now work in a corporate setting with a Board carefully chosen to blend continuity with a combination of corporate dynamism and integrity, financial prudence and professional expertise.”

The nine-member board of the porcupine warriors has also been charged to rebuild the club’s brand as a sporting and self-sustaining economic entity.

Below are the new members of Asante Kotoko Board of Directors:

Dr Kwame Kyei Chairman, Unity Group

Jude Arthur (Board Chairman for Ghana Commercial Bank)

Kwadwo Boateng Gyamfi (Board Chairman Ghana EXIM Bank),

Kwasi Osei Ofori (Chairman Erdmark Group/ CEO Rocksure Mining Ltd)

Lawyer Kwamina Mensah (Corporate Lawyer)

Alhaji Lamine (Businessman)

Joseph Yaw Adu (Retired Director of Sports at Kwame Nkrumah University Science and Technology)

Baffour Kwame Kusi (Otumfuo’s Ankobeahene)

Evelyn Nsiah Asare (Acting Head of Sports at Sunyani Technical University)


  1. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem along with your website in internet explorer, may check this?
    IE still is the marketplace leader and a good component to other people will pass over your magnificent writing
    because of this problem.

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] There you can find 7394 additional Info to that Topic: newscencord.org/kwame-kyei-retained-as-chair-of-kotoko-board/ […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here