The former Director-General of the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service was elected unopposed to occupy the position at the 12th Africa anti-corruption conference held in Kigali, Rwanda recently.

She would serve as Treasurer of the Seven-Member Executive Committee of Anti-Corruption Institutions in Commonwealth Africa with Mrs. Madelein Nirere Chief Ombudsman, the Republic of Rwanda as Chairperson

Other Executive members include; Ms May De Silva , Commissioner, Anti-Corruption Commission from Seychelles as Vice Chairperson, Mr Silumesi Muchula Acting Director-General, Anti-Corruption Commission, the Republic of Zambia as Secretary, Prof Francois Anoukaha , Vice Chairman, National Anti-Corruption Commission, Ms Berma Mpembe Meakalyelye Deputy Director-General The Prevention and Combating of Corruption Bureau, Tanzania and Mr Tymon Katlholo, Director-General, Directorate on Corruption and Economic Crime (DCEC) Botswana.

Meanwhile, the conference held in Kigali discussed the impacts of corruption on sustainable development and strategies for combating corruption
Heads of anti-corruption agencies from the Commonwealth’s 19 African member states and stakeholders attended the five-day conference under the theme ‘Combating Corruption for Good Governance and Sustainable Development in Africa’, which opened with a clarion call from delegates for the need to strengthen cooperation and collaboration among anti-corruption agencies in Commonwealth Africa to help address the gaps in fighting corruption.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here